Skip To Main Content

Serving the people of Hunstanton

Who we are and what we do

Hunstanton Town Council consists of 17 Councillors. They vary from being in office for many years to just a few months. Each Councillor has a duty to represent the electorate of Hunstanton and receives no remuneration for their hard work.

The Council meet at least twice a month in the Council Chamber, usually the second Wednesday of the month are the Committee meetings, comprising of General Purpose & Community Committee, where such business as highways, dealings with the BCKLWN, future events and community engagements are considered and the Finance & Property Management Committee where employment, donation requests and all other finance matters, aspects of the Town Hall and Community Centre such as bookings, health & safety, improvements and the Tourist Information Centre management etc.. Each Committee has working parties which are small investigative sub groups. The Friday of the week following these committee meetings is when the Full Council meet, here representatives from the Borough Council, County Council and Norfolk Constabulary make representation. Members of the public are allowed to attend all Council meetings unless otherwise directed by the Chairman, however they may not participate. There is a ten minute period at the start of every Full Council meeting for members of the public to put their questions to the Councillors and five minutes at the end when questions relating to that meeting's proceedings may be asked.

The current Mayor is Cllr. Tony Bishopp, it is his responsibility to chair all full Council meetings, in his absence the Deputy Mayor Cllr. Adrian Winnington takes over the role. The Mayor is requested to attend many functions which he duly obliges whenever possible.

The Town Clerk is Mrs Jan Roomes, her office is on the second floor of the Town Hall and the Town Hall caretaker is Mr Steven Roomes.

The opening hours are Monday to Thursday 9.30 am to 12.30 pm, closed Friday, although the Clerk is quite happy to see people outside these hours and can be contacted on 01485 532402 or by e-mail to

Caretaker can be contacted on 07484 120 559



We have 2 Committees:

General Purpose Committee & Community Committee - Chairman Cllr Adrian Winnington

Finance & Community Committee - Chairman Cllr Tony Bishopp

Council Policies

Town Council Opening Times

The Town Council office is open:

Monday 9.30 am - 12.30 pm

Tuesday 9.30 am - 12.30 pm

Wednesday 9.30 am - 12.30 pm

Thursday 9.30 am - 12.30 pm

Friday Closed

Jan Roomes

Jan Roomes

Town Clerk

01485 532402